The trying of your faith worketh patience

So this week was transfers and it was my first transfers in a long time where I got to stay in my city! Every other transfer besides my first, I’ve had to go to Buc. It was really nice to have another whole week to just work.

Tuesday we met with a recent convert and had a good lesson with her. She is so awesome! She quit her old job because it required her to work on Sundays and she didn’t want that. Quitting your job and finding another can be really hard in Romania, but she found one less than a week later. Miracle right there. We were so proud of her and she was praying so hard that she would be able to come to church with this new job. So far it looks like she will be able to so we’re grateful! That night we had our last FHE/English activity of the transfer and watched “Finding Nemo” with people in our branch and our English students and some investigators. The Bairs made caramel popcorn and everyone had a really good time. It was great language study too with the subtitles. We learned how to say a lot of words, including “dude.” I haven’t said it yet in Romanian and I probably will have no reason to, but I loved learning more of the language! This will come as no surprise to anyone because I say this every week but I cried! I don’t think I’ve ever cried before when I watched that movie but it got to me this time. It’s when Nemo is hearing from the pelican that his dad has been scouring the ocean looking for him and he just can’t believe it. He looks so amazed and it just made me think of my dad here on earth and how much I love him and how I know we would do anything for each other. And it made me think of my Heavenly Father and how he does anything for me as well. I just felt really grateful that I have them in my life. 🙂

Wednesday the city felt so empty without two companionships! But we had a busy busy day. We met with our investigator Constantina. It was a beautiful lesson. She was obviously troubled about something and it was cool to see her trying to understand and learn and search for peace. I really feel like she is going to accept the Gospel, we just have to keep meeting with her. We met with Carmen after that to talk about the temple. We read through the booklet about the temple with her, only going halfway because of time. It made me miss the temple so badly! And reminded me of what I feel whenever I go. It is absolutely the most beautiful place and I can’t wait to be there again. I am so grateful for all we come to learn and understand there, especially that we are SO loved. That night we had a really cool lesson with three girls that came to our English class. They are awesome! Independent, confident, good girls. One is married with a little girl, and the other two are a little younger and working and in school. They are so normal and we’re excited to keep working with them, although it’s kind of nerve-wracking to be around girls our own age again!

Thursday we met our new district! Sora Parker and Elder Oldham came from Timisoara and Bucuresti, respectively, and seem happy to be here. We had an amazing lesson that night. We took Carmen with us to visit Violeta. We had a lesson on tithing and fasting. It was so nice to get any questions she had cleared up. She was really open with us about a lot of things and it was amazing to see Carmen doing missionary work. She is such a strength to this branch! She has a powerful testimony and just wants to help everyone she can. I’m so thankful for her!

Friday in our District Meeting we watched the devotional by Elder Ridd, about real intent. I LOVED EVERYTHING HE SAID. I totally related to everything he said. The rest of the week I feel like I’ve been trying to focus more on the “why” of everything I do. I really want to do everything because I love God. I want to feel like I have real intent. I know that when we do things with real intent, the results are much more rewarding and lasting.

After district meeting, we went to teach Teo, Carmen’s daughter, a lesson about Lehi’s dream. We made an “iron rod” for her out of string and then had “fruit” at the end of the journey. I used glow sticks (Thanks Bentley!!) and it turned out so good. She was loving every second of it. We read Lehi’s dream together afterwards and talked about how we hold to the iron rod. She loved it. Her grandpa told us yesterday that she talked about what she learned with him and that she loved it. It’s good to hear that things are sticking!

We had two 30/30s that day that were kind of strange lessons but that happens sometimes. We went to visit Cristina, our branch president’s wife after that and had such a good time. We talked about family history and keeping journals and she was so happy we had come. We went with Carmen again that night to visit a less active and it went well. We are glad she wants to work with us so much! It really makes a difference when members come with us on lessons.

Saturday we went to Feldioara and had a great day. It had started out a little weird but by the end of the day I was so happy. The best part was meeting with the Pavel family. It turned out just being Sora Pavel and her daughters, Veronica and Simona, both of whom are our investigators. We shared with them a story from an Ensign called “The Jadeite Cabbage.” We all got kind of emotional and the Spirit was so strong. As girls and as humans in general, we are just so hard on ourselves sometimes and it can be hard for us to see ourselves as God sees us. I know it’s hard for me sometimes and it was a sweet experience for me to be able to testify to these wonderful women, that I KNOW that my Heavenly Father loves me with an infinite love, that He has a beautiful plan for me and that He wants me to be incredibly happy and will help me to be so if I will but follow Him and His Son. Sora Pavel ended our lesson with a prayer and when she finished they were all crying. I loved it. It was a truly special night for me.

Sunday we had a fun church and it was fun to teach Primary. The kids were really good and it was nice to have them be so. 🙂

This morning I read James 1:2-3:

2 My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; (the JST of “divers temptations” is something like, “great afflictions” or trials)

3 Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.

I have really felt that on my mission the two things that I am always constantly working on are faith and patience. And so often I read about the Lord trying them both because they go hand in hand.

I went then to James 5:11, which reminded me of how the Lord is so merciful and how He is always there and that when we endure our trials with patience and humility, He blesses us.

11 Behold, we count them happy which endure. Ye have heard of the patience of Job, and have seen the end of the Lord; that the Lord is very pitiful, and of tender mercy.

I have such a testimony of this. I love that even in our trials the Lord expects us to keep going; to humble ourselves and to trust Him. I know that when we do this, we learn and grow and allow the Lord to make of us something that we could never make of ourselves on our own.

I love you all!! Have a good week and stay safe and happy! 🙂

Sora Marcheschi

Leave a Reply

