I love my mission. I love loving people!

Hello hello hello!

This week Sora Robertson and I had a busy week but it was so good!

Monday night (after another afternoon of our district drinking rooibos tea) we took a train to Buc for Mission Leadership Council the next day. We stayed with the sisters there which meant I got to see SORA HONEY!!!! So that was great.

MLC was amazing. All the Zone Leaders and Sister Training Leaders were there and we were in a new mission office! It didn’t have any furnishings yet so we had just enough chairs for us and that was it. We all contributed and were able to discuss everything. I really liked that. I left feeling so motivated to just be better in every aspect. Sora Robertson and I made a list that night on the train going home of things we would do no matter what, to be the best missionaries we can be. I felt so grateful for a companion who is so willing to do everything she can to help me and to be the best she can be too. We’re doing really well. The next morning we just felt all these blessings being poured out upon us, more than I felt I could receive. We were smiling with tears in our eyes pretty much the entire morning. I love how quickly the Lord is to bless us all. We had a lesson with Carmen Wednesday morning and we could just both feel how blessed we were, as the Spirit truly led our lesson.

We left after meeting with Carmen for our exchange with the sisters in Sibiu. We ended up waiting in the freezing cold for half an hour while our maxi was late (Brasov has been in the negatives this whole week!) but we made people watching friends with this cute old couple. The wife was leaving for a trip and her husband was just so helpful and caring. He stayed while she got on the maxi, and just waited until she left. He waved goodbye the whole time and Sora Robertson and I were beside ourselves, it was way too cute. Well, our maxi taxi was impossibly cold but we made it to Sibiu. Where it was also impossibly cold. We had to take cabs everywhere. Sora Robertson took me to the famous Sibiu sandwich shop. WHICH WAS AMAZING. Mainly because there was a space heater for my feet but the sandwiches were good too. She also took me that night to see an investigator there named Traian. He is basically Sora Robertson’s best friend and calls her his granddaughter. Traian is like the old man from Up, except happy and not grumpy. He plays the harmonia and is fantastic! He played for us and it was the cutest thing ever. He asked me what I wanted to do in life. HAHAHA. I told him that I was studying French and psychology before my mission but that my dream was to sing. He said, “If you have a voice, use it! If that is your dream, follow it!” I think that was the most inspired I’ve ever been to actually do that! By the end of our lesson and visit, he was calling me his granddaughter too. I call that a success. 🙂

The next day we split with the sisters in Sibiu and had a great day. It was below freezing once again and as we walked to the church for district meeting, MY HAIR FROZE. I went gray for about 5 minutes. It was one of the most frightening experiences ‘cause I didn’t realize that it had frozen and I thought my hair was just freaking out and actually turning gray. Dumb, but I thought that. Sora Johnson and I went back to see Traian that day and had a lesson with him. It went really well. She was able to lead our lesson and he played his harmonica for us again. At the end of our lesson he offered us these cherry chocolates. We ate them, not knowing the inside was straight brandy. It burned. So bad. Ick. We got into Brasov that night (after taking another freezing maxi taxi home) and both felt so happy to be home!

We came back and had full days the rest of the week which felt great. We had some great lessons with members talking about family history and sharing the Europe area goal to find one family member to do temple work for, and helping other members get ready to go to the temple this year. That makes me so excited for them! The temple is so important to me and I can’t wait for others to receive the blessings there.

Saturday we had a super fun English class and afterwards we did some hot chocolate contacting. Our district made hot chocolate, put out a sign and talked with people that walked by the church. It was so fun! While the hot chocolate was heating up, we made two snowmen and then got in a huge snowball fight. I got hit straight in the face TWICE, and I loved it. Being a missionary is so fun. Teo was helping us the whole time, but she was constantly switching teams. 🙂

That morning in my personal study I read what I think is one of my new favorite scriptures. It’s in 1 Corinthians 15:10. It says:

“But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was in me.”

How beautiful. Every single one of us, is who we are because of the grace of God. And at least for me, I don’t want that grace to be in vain. I am trying to work as hard as I can, to give all that I have, to love in entirety, to try to say “Thank you” for His grace in my life.

I love my mission. I love loving people. It brings me so much joy. These people make my heart so happy and I love doing all I can to serve them.

I love all of you! You are so important to me and I’m so thankful for you guys. 🙂 Stay happy!

Cu toate dragoste,

Sora Marcheschi

Leave a Reply

