If we trust Christ, have faith, act, arise, and lift up our eyes toward Him, He will fill our vision, our hearts and our lives

Hello Everyone!!

Well, transfers are here again, and Sora Weaver and I are staying in Brasov! Holla! Elder Houk and Elder Weaver are leaving 😦 But we are getting two NEW sisters here and as of right now they are going to be staying with us….love shacking! (That’s when two companionships stay in the same apartment, just to clarify πŸ™‚ ). We’ll see how this goes…we have a pretty teeny apartment, even for two people. Hahahahaha, it will be an adventure. I’ve also been made a Sister Training Leader this transfer which will be exciting.

This week we invited two of our investigators to be baptized! They both said yes, but hesitated to set dates. So that’s our next goal with both of them. Simona needs to keep coming to church and to truly ask with real intent if baptism is the right choice. Cristina, our English student, is earnestly seeking truth and wants to be baptized but wants to have a better relationship with her Heavenly Father before she does. She needs to come to church first of all, but she is reading the Book of Mormon and has been praying. We really focused a lot in our lessons this week on praying with real intent. Without that, what answer is truly going to come?

We had Teo’s baptism on Saturday. She is the little girl we’ve been teaching for two transfers and who literally is like my little sister. She looked so beautiful in white and so happy and pure. After her baptism she and I sang “I am a Child of God” in Romanian. I had a hard time not crying, haha, nothing unusual out here. But it was the best day of my life. I love that girl so much. I don’t know what I’m going to do when I get transferred out of Brasov. You know what I love more than anything else?? Seeing people come unto Christ. I love being a missionary more than anything else and I can’t even imagine how I’m going to leave Romania and all these wonderful people one day. Thankfully it’s far away still. I feel so incredibly blessed that this is what I’m doing with my life right now. There is absolutely nothing better that I could be doing at this time and I want to make everything I can out of it. Whoever thought I would say that I wish I could be a missionary forever? Haha, not I. But it truly is my favorite thing in the world. I am the happiest I’ve ever been in my entire life. I don’t know how anything is going to top this.

I was reading in Matthew 17 this week during personal study and I loved the story of how Jesus takes Peter, James, and John to the Mount of Transfiguration. I learned something really cool when I read verses 7-8. The disciples have just heard the voice of the Father, testifying of His Son. They were afraid, but then Jesus touches them, tells them to arise and to not be afraid. Here’s the first thing I learned: this is what Christ does with us every day. He reaches out in love and mercy, telling us to have courage, to be faithful, to act, to arise. Now here’s the second: in the next verse, the disciples lifted up their eyes. They trusted Christ. They listened, had faith, acted, and arose. And the beautiful blessing was that they saw no man besides Christ. (Now I know what I learned is a little different if put entirely in the full context of the story, but it works here.) If we trust Christ, have faith, act, arise, and lift up our eyes towards Him, He will fill our vision, our hearts and our lives.

BEING A MISSIONARY IS THE BEST!!! Just everyone go be missionaries. Do whatever you can to share the Gospel. I promise you, promise you, that you will be so happy. The happiest. Seriously. πŸ™‚

Love you all!!!!

Sora Marcheschi

P.S. for those of you allowed on Facebook: to see updates on me and more pictures (β€˜cause I never have time to send them home), go add “Leslie Bair” on Facebook. She and her husband are the senior couple here and she is friends with everyone. She’ll accept you so you can see more pictures and updates on us and me here πŸ™‚ Love you!

October 26 - last Sunday dinner as a district together at the Bairs before two new sisters come and two elders leave

October 26 – last Sunday dinner as a district together at the Bairs before two new sisters come and two elders leave

Enjoying conversation

Enjoying conversation

Bowling with our district, two sisters from the branch and their friend - so fun!

Bowling with our district, two sisters from the branch and their friend – so fun!

What great form, Sister Bair said.... :)

What great form, Sister Bair said…. πŸ™‚

So intent on the game

So intent on the game

10.27.14 Bowling 3

And the winner is....

And the winner is….

Leave a Reply

