Lay up for yourselves treasures in Heaven

Hello Hello!!!

I hope you are all still doing well. First, I want you all to know I pray for you every night. And that I love you. And that our Father in Heaven loves you mostest. πŸ™‚ (And yes, I know that’s not a word, Mom.)

This week was spectacularly wonderful. Last Monday, we split our P-day so we could visit a castle on Wednesday. So Sora Weaver and I made a batch of almost 80 cookies, wrapped them up with pass along cards and our number, and handed them out to people all over Centru. It was so much fun!!! I was surprised however at how many people honestly didn’t want a FREE COOKIE. I mean, come on! Haha, we had a good time though.

Tuesday we were supposed to have a lesson with one of our investigators at 10 in the morning. However, she showed up an hour and a half late, right when we were starting District Meeting. It was a touch awkward for her, I’m sure, but we whisked her away into a lesson. I’m not sure if it was because of the timing, or what, but it was a really hard lesson. She is so so interested but it’s just hard to explain everything in a way that she understands for some reason. We’re having to be more creative in our explaining/teaching techniques. She is one of our favorites (is it bad to have favorites?? haha) investigators though. So eager to learn and know more about God. Our other lesson on Tuesday also just completely didn’t show up. But that’s ok because she came for English. After English, we had our first true institute class and it was awesome! We talked about the Plan of Salvation. I got kind of emotional (is this a surprise to anyone really?) when I talked about it. I just know so strongly that this plan was given for our complete and total happiness, and that if we follow it, that is what we will have: true, complete happiness, with our families, FOREVER. Isn’t that one of the greatest, most comforting truths we have in the Gospel? We literally have the ability to be with the people that we love forever, throughout the rest of “time,” hahaha, it just blows my mind it’s so amazing. And it makes me so incredibly happy, because I love my family!

Wednesday we took a train early in the morning to Sinaia (go google this town!). We walked through the most beautiful park there. Right when we got off the train I felt like I was in another world. We were in the middle of the mountains, it was a little foggy, and all the colors on the trees were orange, yellow, red and green. It was one of the most beautiful days. We walked up a hill and through a beautiful, quiet, forest to the Castle PeleΘ™ (Pelesh). As I was walking, it was one of those moments where everything is just so perfectly the way it’s supposed to be and I just was deep in thought. The leaves were falling, there was a crisp breeze, the mountains were behind this beautiful castle, you could hear the river flowing; everything was perfect. The grounds of the Castle are beautiful and we walked around them, taking pictures for a bit before going through the tour. This castle is beautiful on the inside. The King collected so many things and the whole castle is full of them. He had a huge room full of his weapons collection! There were weapons from just about every civilization. It was cool. One of my favorite parts about the castle though was the wood. It was intricately carved and was deep, rich wood. And it was all throughout the castle. Dad, you would have loved it. We’ll have to go someday together πŸ™‚ As pretty as the castle was, my favorite part was just being outside in the forests with all the leaves. I haven’t been in leaves those colors since I was about 12 years old and I didn’t realize how much I had missed it. It was so good for me.

Thursday we had 6 lessons planned, and all but two fell through. A bit discouraging but we made it through!!! All with the help of the Bairs and some good ol’ European pastries.

Friday was SO much better. We had an amazing lesson with an investigator whose parents are both members of the branch here. We were bold with her but you could tell she knew that we really cared about her and loved her and her family as well. We have been inviting her to church for about a month now…and she finally came to church!!! Ah, it made me so so so so happy I almost cried. It happens a lot on missions, ya know?

Sunday we had a goal of getting 50 people to church. We had 51!!! Holla! It was so wonderful to see everyone in the congregation and to just feel unified. Sora Bair and I taught sharing and singing time in Primary which was so much fun. I’m helping the kids learn the song “Scripture Power” and they love it!

Today, the Bairs took us up to Bran castle, which here is known as Dracula’s castle. It was beautiful. Bran is almost a complete 180 opposite of Peles. It is much much older which lends an air of mystery as you go through. There are hidden staircases and nooks and crannies all over the place. It was incredible.

I’ve been reading the New Testament, Jesus the Christ, and watching the Bible videos when I have a chance little by little. It’s been so cool to combine these three. I am learning so much about the Savior. I love the way He teaches! It’s so powerful, clear, and precise, even when it doesn’t seem that way. It makes me sad to think of how many people didn’t understand His words. I love the Savior. He loves us so much. And that makes me love Him even more. I can’t wait to meet Him one day. One of my favorite videos and teachings in the scriptures is in Luke 12:13-34. The video is called “Seek Ye the Kingdom of God.” Go watch it and tell me what you think. πŸ™‚

I love you all!!!! Stay safe, love each other, keep praying and reading your scriptures!

Stay classy πŸ™‚

Love,

Sora Emily Marcheschi

Leave a Reply

