We can feel the love of God

Hey Everyone!!!

I hope you’re all doing awesome! I am so glad that Trek went well for you Mom and Dad!

I don’t know that my week can compare to how amazing Trek was for you. I remember how much I loved that when I went.

First thing from this week. If any of you know me well, you’ll know that I NEVER remember my dreams. Like ever. I think I maybe remember one or two a year. Well, since being in Romania, not only do I remember my dreams almost every night, but I have the WEIRDEST dreams I have probably ever had. Hahahaha I always wake up, and think “What the heck???” Haha it’s super funny. Some of you have been in my dreams but you’re all here in Romania learning Romanian with me, so good thing they’re just dreams. I don’t know that you all could handle Romanian ;).

This week looked like lots of heat, lots of rain, lots of money, and lots of maintenance problems. Ha ok here goes.

Tuesday we had our study with Brielle. She was so cute haha she had found a new workout that she was starting. She was really excited to show it to us. We told her about our mission trainer named Emmett and we’re going to tell each other how each program goes. Then I cut her hair!!! ME!!! I can’t believe she trusted me…. I wouldn’t trust me if I were her to cut hair! That’s so scary! And I cut bangs for her!! BANGS!!!!!! This woman has faith, lemme tell ya. Anyways, it actually turned out super cute! And she liked it (or at least that’s what she said, haha) so I felt better. She showed us her knitting project as well. She had coded her name in binary and then made a pattern to knit it into socks. I was super impressed. Ha, I don’t even know what binary is so that word alone had me impressed. Then we talked about the talk “Mountains to Climb” by President Eyring. I had watched the Mormon Message video for it on Monday and printed the talk to study. I love this talk!! I love what President Eyring says about our faith in Jesus Christ. “If we have faith in Jesus Christ, the hardest as well as the easiest times in life can be a blessing. In all conditions, we can choose the right with the guidance of the Spirit. We have the gospel of Jesus Christ to shape and guide our lives if we choose it. And with prophets revealing to us our place in the plan of salvation, we can live with perfect hope and a feeling of peace. We never need to feel that we are alone or unloved in the Lord’s service because we never are. We can feel the love of God. The Savior has promised angels on our left and our right to bear us up. And He always keeps His word.” That bolded phrase really hit home for me. As a missionary, sometimes I’ve just felt alone. It’s hard, people don’t like you, people don’t always understand you, you miss things and people from home, etc. etc. etc. haha. But every time that I’ve felt that way, I have felt the Lord lift me up. It doesn’t always happen right away, but it always happens. I know, so strongly, that we are never alone. We are never alone, especially when we feel that way the most. The Lord is there, with outstretched arms, to love us, to understand us, to listen to us, to let us know we are worth something. That’s one of the greatest gifts we have. Anyway, it was a great meeting and chance to discuss that talk.

Wednesday the Zone Leaders came up for exchanges. We had planned to go to Campulung, so Elder Dearden and Elder Contos stayed in Pitesti and Elder Poulsen came with Elder Manning and us up to Campulung. It was pouring when we got there. We grabbed lunch at this little pizzerie that made Sora Newell and me feel like we were in America ha. It was really nice and had super good food too! I had some lasagna that was great but not as good as yours Dad :). We had a lesson with Alexandra and Tania came!!!! We hadn’t seen Tania in over a month because she had so much work. We had an amazing lesson with them. We talked about the temple. For them, it’s hard to discuss this because they have to wait a year since their baptism date, and they don’t have enough money to go for a long time probably. We focused on how we can prepare to be worthy to enter the temple. They asked us what the temple was like inside. There was a beautiful spirit there as we described how white, quiet, and peaceful the temple is. Alexandra said that when you are in the temple, you are closer to God. She’s absolutely right. I miss the temple!! I wish I could go every week still. Don’t ever take the temple for granted. Most of you live so close to a temple! The saints here have to go to Ukraine. They can’t go there right now, so they have to go even further to Germany. Usually it takes them two weeks for the trip. I can’t believe how close I was to a temple for my entire life. I never had to travel more than 30 minutes to be at a temple. There is a spirit in the temple that we need constantly in our lives. I hope you all go to the temple as often as you can! Do it for me!!! 🙂

Thursday was a weird day for us. We had our district meeting and then got lunch. After having lunch, both Sora Newell and I felt really really sick so we went home for a little to try and feel better. It didn’t quite ever go away 😦 But we went out and tried to work through the weird stomach feelings haha. It was a strange day.

Friday and Saturday were both kind of off days as well. We had two activities that nobody showed up for, which was really disappointing. But at one of them, we were able to talk with a man who had lived in America for a while! So that was cool. He spoke probably the best English I’ve heard here yet.

Sunday we had church in Pitesti and in Campulung. Brielle spoke in church in Pitesti and shared some amazing verses that I loved. She read Mormon 9:27-28. I love when it says “Doubt not, but be believing, and begin as in times of old, and come unto the Lord with all your heart…” That is so awesome! I love the idea of beginning “as in times of old.” I know for me at least, that there are times when I am not as faithful or righteous as I was a day, or month, or whatever ago. But we always have the chance to begin again! And be like we were before, and then become even better.

I love you all!!! I hope everyone is doing great and that life is great 🙂

Miss you, love you, stay classy 🙂

Sora Emily Marcheschi

Leave a Reply

