The Week of NO FOOD

Monday, June 23, 2014 at 8:30 a.m.

So this week has been crazy. It was long and hard but not because of the work. I got super sick this week. I wasn’t able to keep food or water down for almost 6 days and had to go to the hospital. Thankfully I’m feeling a lot better thanks to an amazing companion and wonderful leaders and doctors. And of course, my Heavenly Father.

So here’s this week:

Tuesday: We did our studies in the morning and then prepped for English. At our English class we had our usual students Eugen, Florin and Felicia. They are so funny, especially when we speak English with them. We taught them question words and then played 2 truths and a lie. My three were 1) I have swum with fish and turtles in Hawaii, 2) I have already bought my wedding dress, and 3) I like shopping online better than actually going to the stores. Obviously #2 is the lie, but NO ONE GUESSED THAT. I felt like I seriously needed to reexamine my life if people couldn’t guess that I hadn’t already bought a wedding dress. Yikes. After our class Eugen wanted pictures so we took some pictures with our students and the elders.

Wednesday: This is basically just a day of me being so sick and not keeping food down. Sorry 😦

Thursday: Same thing. But after lunch we contacted! I felt awful but I didn’t want to just go home and rest. So we did about 3 hours and then I had to go home because I had no energy to even walk. I went to bed early because I felt so sick.

Friday: After I had been sick again, we finally decided to call Sora Hill. We explained the situation to her and she had us make an appointment at the hospital for as soon as possible. When we called back and told her the earliest a hospital here could see me was Monday, she told us to to come up to Buc the next day for an appointment there.

Saturday: We took a train at 7:20 to Buc and then had some time before our appointment that we didn’t know how to fill so we called Sora Hill and she told us to be missionary tourists! So Sora Newell took me to Old Buc and showed me around. We saw tons of old churches, the National Bank, and so many little streets with tons of cafes and restaurants. Because it was Saturday morning, there were also lots of people selling their crafts, food, etc. at little stands. After going around Old Buc we went to my appointment at the hospital. Thankfully I was at a private clinic so it was nice inside instead of having peeling paint and stray dogs in the hallways. My doctor was so cute and she spoke English which we were thankful for. After telling her what was going on (and that I was NOT pregnant, haha) and answering her questions, she brought me lie down because she wanted to do an ultrasound. At this point I’m getting super excited because I was probably going to get one of those cool ultrasound pictures, just way ahead of when I thought I would ever get one, haha. She squeezed that jelly stuff onto my stomach and it’s cold just like everyone says! She could see how exciting and cool I thought it was so she showed me literally everything: my stomach, spleen, gallbladder, liver, kidneys, my aorta, etc. She gave me pictures of almost everything! She told me that everything looked ok and that she’s pretty sure I just had “acute gastritis” and that with some medicine (which we got for me right after) I should be fine. I’ll go back in a week for another ultrasound to make sure everything’s ok. Our plan after my appointment was to go to the office for refunds but the office elders were at a baptism, so we ended up heading over there. It was beautiful. The Panduri sisters sang the baptism song from the children’s songbook and I totally cried. It reminded me of watching all my siblings get baptized. 🙂 The missionaries were all wondering why we were there and when we told them, they were worried and told me they hoped I got better. The pictures were a hit though. We got to talk to Sora Hill there and she was glad that I’d been to see someone before Monday. I took one of the pills I was prescribed so that I could eat again and then ate the first piece of food in 48 hours (a slice of banana bread) and I swear I heard heavenly choirs of angels singing. It was a glorious moment. I don’t know how Jesus fasted for 40 days. My “fast” wasn’t even willing and it was so difficult. I did notice though that I felt like I could focus more on the spiritual things this week so in a way, getting sick was a blessing. After the baptism we went with the office elders and grabbed food at afi palace which is this ginormous mall. It has like an entire ice rink and a cinema inside. Then we went to the office and grabbed our money and our mail (I got your letters Rose and Mom!! They both made me cry. I was so happy to hear from you 🙂 ) and Sora Newell’s HUGE package from her mom. Literally the elders said it’s the largest one they’ve ever seen in the mission. I carried it on the metro to the gara and then instead of carrying it from the gara in Pitesti to our apartment, we took a cab :).

Sunday: I could eat! Haha, it was fantastic. And I hadn’t been sick. We had church in Pitesti and in Campulung and both were good. Maria (a three year old in Pitesti) was being a little devil, though, during Sacrament, haha. She loves to dig around in my bag for treats and anything she can get her hands on. Because I don’t know how to say much and because I can’t understand her very well because she’s three and slurs a little, I have no idea how to stop her. So she goes crazy in there.

So this week was the week of all weeks so far. It had lots of downs but I had some of the most amazing studies yet. I’m almost done with Alma in the Book of Mormon and I love that whole book. Even the war chapters. There’s a reason they’re included and it’s cool to find ways to apply them in our lives. It’s interesting being sick. Because everyone was focusing so much on me, I wanted to focus more on others and my prayers were more meaningful, full of gratitude and prayers for others instead of myself. I was so thankful for my companion who was always worried about me and did all she could to help, including making sure I didn’t feel bad when I needed to rest after being really sick. I would always feel so bad when I rested, but Sora Newell told me that I needed to get better in order to actually be truly effective. Which is true. I am ever thankful for my Savior and my Heavenly Father. I was reading in Alma 37 in verse 17. Alma tells his son:

“For he will fulfill all his promises which he shall make unto you…” (talking about the Lord). I love that. How many things has the Lord promised us? I can’t even count them. He continues in verses 36 & 37 and says:

“Yea, and cry unto God for all thy support; yea, let all thy doings be unto the Lord, and whithersoever thou goest let it be in the Lord; yea, let all thy thoughts be directed unto the Lord; yea, let the affections of thy heart be placed upon the Lord forever. Counsel with the Lord in all thy doings, and he will direct thee for good; yea, when thou liest down at night lie down unto the Lord, that he may watch over you in your sleep; and when thou risest in the morning let thy heart be full of thanks unto god; and if ye do these things, ye shall be lifted up at the last day.”

These have become two of my favorite scriptures. It’s a perfect recipe for life! I hope that we can all try a little harder to follow Alma’s counsel to his son as if it were from one of our own parents, or even better, from the Lord! (Cause it is 🙂 )

You are all always in my prayers and I love you all so much!

Stay classy 🙂

Sora Emily Marcheschi

Selflie while I waited for my companion to Skype on Mother's Day

Selflie while I waited for my companion to Skype on Mother’s Day

With our English class

With our English class

After being sick for a couple of days

After being sick for a couple of days

Disneyland!

Disneyland!

My favorite little street.

My favorite little street.

All the food in Sora Newel''s package from her mother

All the food in Sora Newel”s package from her mother

Me with the coolest photos ever, ha

Me with the coolest photos ever, ha

Church in Campulung

Church in Campulung

Vlad the Impaler, haha

Vlad the Impaler, haha

The strangest statue I have EVER seen!  We did not even know what to think, haha.

The strangest statue I have EVER seen! We did not even know what to think, haha.

 

Leave a Reply

